A Delivery Notification and Tracking Idea

Hi folks, I’m new here. I am not a Pizzeria owner, I am a mobile app developer. I thought of an idea the other day, and I wanted to get some initial opinions about it before I bother to decide whether to actually try to make it or not, as it would probably take a year to do it. Honest opinions are extremely appreciated, harsh or not.

It would be for independent pizzerias/sub shops. I was thinking of an easy to use app where the driver enters his delivery addresses (using google auto suggest field for quick entries), and the driver can adjust the order of the addresses he entered to see the best delivery times or fastest ETA, and get voice guided driving directions to his next stop.

When the driver decides which order is next, he presses a button and a text message is automatically sent to the customer’s mobile phone. In the text message would be a link to the customer’s own temporary private order page. They tap it and see a page that has their order status and ETA. It would also show the driver’s location and the customer’s location on a map, where the driver’s location updates maybe every 10 seconds or so until it arrives at the customer location. Similar to what Uber already does when you request a ride, but it’s for deliveries of independent restaurants that can’t afford to create this sort of software themselves.

Also, aside from the order info, the Restaurant owner would be able to enter in any ad messages they want on their administration page, and they would show up in a rotating banner space on the order page the customer sees. So you would get to advertise your latest specials for the week, or enter any message you want, and it would be viewed by targeted customers who are already interested in the Restaurant’s offering, and might place a repeat order that week because of it.