Ask Steve Green a Question

Submit your questions here.

Hello Steve,

My name is Casey Zitkus and I am a senior accounting/entrepreneurship undergraduate student attending Indiana University of South Bend. I am doing research for a marketing project and I need to know the target age group for pizza consumption in the United States. I have been searching the website for a few hours and I can’t find an article containing this information.

Could you please provide me with this information and/or an accesssible article containing this information? This would be a great deal of help and I would very much appreciate it? I will continue searching the site and other sites as well.

Thank you!

Casey

Demographics of Pizza

Dear Casey,

In the 1980’s Domino’s spent lots of time figuring out the demographics of pizza. At one point they did a regression analysis and discovered that the most relavant piece of information with the highest likely hood of predicting pizza consumption was the percentage of household with 3 car garages. Now that the pizza industry has matured and the cosumption of pizza is practically universal, demographic information has become less and less important.

In 1984 as a Domino’s franchisee, we typically went after the 18 to 34 year olds. But when I bought an existing Domino’s pizzerias in Buffalo New York, where pizza had already been popular for a generation, I noticed something funny. Even old people there ate lots of pizza.