Cartop Signs... are your drivers responsable?

Hey all,
We’re finally getting the cartop signs for my delivery drivers in the next week or so…

Wanted to know if all of you charge the drivers for any damages (or total cost if being stolen) to the cartop signs if something happens to them?

The way I see it is, it’s the drivers reasonability to ensure the signs are mounted and positioned correctly so the “wind” does rip them off the car, and it is also their reasonability to keep an eye on the signs at all times so they are not damaged or stolen. Correct?

I’m in the process of revising my hiring paperwork to include this type of signage :lol:

Thanks all!

I eat the cost of damage and lost signs. Just a simple fact that they sometimes get stolen. When I was a driver, if an owner tried to charge me for a $100 sign I would absolutly tell him to shove the sign up his ass. As a driver, I can get hired at 10 delivery places tonight. As an owner, I always stuggle to keep my schedule full of drivers.

As a general rule, most states labor laws prohibit you from deducting anything from an employees hourly wages to compensate for any damages or such that they did while working. You can easily fire them for damaging the signs, but usually can’t hold any money back from them.

LOL.

How could it be possible for a driver to keep his eye on his sign at all times?

Also, there isn’t a special way to position them to avoid them being ripped off the car in the wind. If the sign come off the car, then there was something wrong with the sign.