Cheese Samples?? Any help?

Hi! Great site, I found it over at the pizzamaking.com forums. Been lurking, first post here and it has been a very valuable resource for.me!

I have been honing my pizza craft for a few years in my home kitchen. And my wife and I have decided to go head first into the pizza making industry after a very good local buzz delivering to friends, family and acquaintances from home.

I have been using Grande as it is accessible and the only cheese I have used to.date that tastes like the parlors back home in NJ. I have tried Bacio, Luigi and Assoluti with less than desirable results. All of the latter 3 being distributed by Roma…

I am curious to try Roma SD (or Classico and Original) and the Roma “Formaggio Premiato” brand (whose description leaves me with a hunch that it is their house alternative to Grande, not Bacio).

My issue here is my local distributor and restaurant supply will only accept orders by the case. I don’t have.the need for 60lbs of cheese yet. So I.was hoping to procure a couple sample purchases of each. I’ve reached out to the regional office sales manager but to no avail. And my restaurant supply store won’t break down a case.

Any advice for me? I appreciate it and thanks in advance!

You might try contacting a pizzeria in a close by town and see if they will sell you single blocks. I did this for a lady in the town 15 miles away. She would call me the day before I placed my orders to make sure I had enough to sell her.

I don’t/won’t put a damper on your sampling plan…great in theory…

But everything changes when you jump to a commercial operation, IMHBCO…

When you have signed your lease & taken possession of your operation, vendors will be falling over themselves to ‘sample’ you on everything the represent…

Home pizza making and commercial pizza operation are similar in some cases…othe not so…

Make your plan/work your plan…