credit card machine Questions

Will be opening Very soon and just realized I don’t have a CC machine.I know there was a guy on here that worked for or owned a company that did that.Should I buy a new machine off of Ebay.
How do the fees work and things like that?
I have no experience with CC’s at all.
Thanks
Derek

http://cgi.ebay.com/1-16-CREDIT-CARD-PR … dZViewItem
I posted the ebay link of the one I was interested in.It is wireless so I could use it on deliveries, or is it just better to take it over the phone.
Thanks
Derek

went through sams club for mine up front by membership desk they have flyers with info

Check with your bank. Ours had cheaper fees than outside companies. Fees can be complicated depending on how much sales you have. We take MC, Visa, & Discover. The American Express fee is too high for us. We use a stationary machine and run the credit card through the shop. It takes awhile to get it set up. Good luck.

What are the fees you guys are paying. For going on nine years we have not taken cards. Each time I look, it seems like the fees end up being 6-7% of the average sale when you take the % and the “swipe” fee into acount.

We have considered taking them only for carry out and not for delivery. (We have no sit down) Has anyone tried that?

Ouch!! We get steamed when we find 3.05% on those business cards with rewards. You can find aggressive companies out there that will get your average basic cost per transaction closer to 3% than 7%.