Don't want to jinx it ... but

Since this is my first year open, I really don’t have any trends to go by. However, I have seen a nearly 25% increase in business this month, and just over 10% increase last month. I don’t know if the increase is due to the new dining room, or if it is due to some other changes. In January, I hired a new GM who actually gives a crap. I also got rid of an assistant manager I had gotten some complaints about. I have also gotten more aggressive in my door hanging. Is March typically the turning point in the upswing, or is this just me?

Throughout my first year, I have tried every form of advertising to see what worked in my area. I have pretty much stuck with just door hanging since January. Not counting the honeymoon period, my sales have been pretty much flat up until now. Just curious how the trends run so I know if this is normal or not. By the way, the Sysco rep tells me I am the only one he has talked to who is seeing an increase in business.

Sounds like things are going well and that is a good thing.

I don’t find comparisons of one month to another month to be of much use. March to March the year before is a lot more important than how March compares to February. You might ask your sysco rep if when he is talking about other businesses saying March is up, down or flat if they are comparing to last year. I would be that they are.

I could very easily have a March that was bigger than Feb (Every year for the 9 years we have been open) and was still down compared to the year before. In talking about it, I would say that March was “down”.

Don’t discouraged at all by my comments. I think you will find, over time, that the sales of a given month have more to do with the annual pattern and recent marketing activity than they do with other months.