Dough Rounder Purchasing

After some discussion, we have decided to buy a dough rounder to help with the laborious task of rolling dough balls after the end of a busy night but the equipment stores in the area I live in barely know what a rounder is let alone have have used rounders in stock. Our budget for a rounder isn’t enough to get a new one, but I’m hesitant to buy one online without seeing it in person first, especially since it isn’t a cheap piece of equipment. So far, eBay looks like the only place I can find a good deal on one. Does anyone have any experience with this or advice on where to look?

I’m not really experienced in buying through Ebay, but; 1) Ebay has vendor ratings that can give you confidence that you’re dealing with a reputable seller, and 2) if you pay with PayPal they will provide you with protection from scams or merchandise that wasn’t as promised … https://www.paypal.com/us/smarthelp/article/does-paypal-cover-my-purchase-if-there’s-a-problem-faq645

How much volume are you doing? If it is not several hundred doughballs per night I can see there being any savings with a rounder. If you still have to cut and weigh the difference will be minimal.

Good point about the ebay guarantee thing… I don’t usually purchase expensive items on ebay I’ll have to see what the limits of the guarantee are

As far as volume goes, we are rolling maybe 100 on a slow night to 2 times that on a busy night, which isn’t really the end of the world with a couple people rolling but I am usually doing dough when we are already tired after the shift so I’m trying to find a way to make it a little easier for us. I know there is a bit of cleanup involved with a rounder but the dishwasher can just take care of that so it doesn’t add to my workload that much.