Dough Tray Vs. Sheet Pan & Saran Wrap

So we have a good problem in that we no longer have enough dough trays to keep the proper amount of dough in the cooler to keep up with sales. We need to add capacity & we currently use doughmate dough trays. By our calculations we need to add about 100 trays to our inventory. Does anyone have experience with the use of a sheet pan with saran wrap?

Before I invest in the new trays, I wanted to explore the possibly of using a sheet pans in racks. I visited the operation of a large chain that used the sheet pans rather than dough trays. I wanted to know if anyone on the board had any pros or cons for either system. I am pretty happy with the dough trays at the moment. Just wanted to pose the question before spend the cash.

Saran wrap? They make bags just for this purpose.

Space out the pans in the rack in the walk-in for at least a couple hours. This accomplishes the same goal as cross stacking.

I have no experience with dough trays, but have been using sheet pans and saran wrap for 9 years. I have no problems with it, having never used dough trays I always thought they would be harder to use because of trying to rotate the dough.
When we make dough, we put the new trays on the next empty space down on the rack. Whenever we need to sheet out dough, we grab the top tray and go from that. Simple. Once a day (in the morning) we rotate everything up so there are no empty spots at the top of the dough rack, leaving plenty of room below.
How does it work with dough trays? These stack, right, not go on a dough rack. I would think it would be difficult and time consuming to rotate so you get the new dough first.

We use vegalene pan coating spray when making dough.

1. spray pan with a coating (not too little or the dough ball will stick when you try to remove it)
  2. place dough balls on the tray
  3. press down dough balls
  4. spray tops of dough balls