Flour Alternatives for Stretching Dough

My background is from mostly Papa John’s Pizza prior to opening up my own independent store. As such, a lot of my standard techniques are based on those acquired at Papa John’s, including our dough stretching technique.

To date I have been using my flour, All Trumps, to work the dough. We place a pile of the flour on our stainless steel table, and work the dough in it, doing our edge lock, edge stretch, docking, and ultimately slapping the dough to size. The problem is the flour gets EVERYWHERE. The computers, the phones, the counters, customers, everywhere.

Now we have taken some steps to reduce this, including using less of it at a time, a sneeze guard, and other minor changes, but today I got the bad news that the compressor on my make table seized up and had to be replaced. The unit was older to begin with, and I have opted to replace it entirely, but the technician said it was heavily due to the flour particles getting in there and recommended we use corn meal.

After doing some research, and knowing from past experience I do not wish to use straight corn meal, I found that the “Dustinator” used at Papa John’s is not actually a straight flour, but a blend. The suggestions of the blend range, with the most consistent being Flour, Semolina, and Fine Corn Meal, but it definitely is not straight flour.

Does anyone already use a product similar to this, or have their own mixture they would not mind sharing, to use moving forward? My Performance Food Group representative recommended using straight Semolina, but I wanted to get some other feedback to see what some of my fellow tankers use or think.

Thank you in advance!

Try Wondra