Frozen Pizza Sales From My Independent Store

I am an operator of an independent carry out and delivery pizza place in Aurora, IL. I am also looking to increase revenew in our shop by selling frozen pizzas. I am a frequent customer of Lou Malnattis in a neighboring town and I find myself ordering dinner and then buying 3 or 4 frozen pies to take home. I have a constant request from customers for half baked or frozen pizzas that I offer somewhat “under the table” as I am unsure of regulations and what would need to happen for me to mainstream the sales of these as far as having a dedicated freezer in my store or possibly getting them into the few specialty grocers in my area. If anyone has gone through this or has helpful info regarding health rules and regulations, since we use raw sausage in the making of our pizza, and my assumption is that if half baked the meat is not fully cooked, also packaging, distribution, etc.

I believe this would be a great addition to our small mom and pop shop but as anyone in the same boat knows, one good idea that is not fully thought out or done correctly could mean the end of the line and losing everything. Thanks in advance for any help I might recieve!

The absolute best thing you can do is to call your food inspector. Every state has different laws and food codes.
One downfall to trying to offer your product in stores is that competitor’s with deep pockets may pay store management to not carry your product if it effects their sales.

To do this from one of YOUR stores is not a big problem, but trying to sell your frozen pizzas from a grocery store can be a major undertaking. You are going to need to play by the exact same rules governing the big boy players in frozen pizza. Made under USDA inspection (at your cost), must have a HACCP plan, product recall plan, alergen statement, ingredient deck, nutritional labeling, are just the tip of the iceberg. I’ve written about this before. You might check the archives.