Frustrating trying to sell......

You would think that being a business broker I might be immune… but it’s not true. As many know from my posts over the years I am interested in selling. I spend quite a bit of time with my brokerage clients on the subject of how long it takes to find a buyer, what it takes to put together a deal, what kind of prices are realistic etc… but that does not save me from having the same frustrations the clients have.

In the last two years I have had quite a few lookers and three “offers”. In business brokerage only about 5% (yes, one in twenty!) of inquiries are what I would consider legit. By legit, I mean they are actually looking with the intent (vs the fantasy) of buying a business AND have access to a realistic level of funding to complete a deal one way or another… so the sorting process starts early!

Most inquiries do not get past the stage of signing a non-disclosure because we figure out they are just tire kickers or they balk at providing financials on themselves to demonstrate the ability to close a deal (which we require before releasing financials on any business for sale). Of the ones that do, some consider themselves “investors” and back off when they find out that in order to receive the quoted seller’s discretionary earnings for a business they would actually have to WORK in the business. (a species of buyer perhaps unique to resort markets?) Others do not actually have enough money.

The three offers:

1. Lowball. Too low.
  2. Price OK but money from family member was not going to be an investment after all and once the bank understood there would be additional debt in the picture the bank backed out.
  3. Contingent on seller carry… I am not opposed to the concept to a point, but the buyer would have to be bringing at least 2/3 to the table and I would also need to feel confident that the buyer would succeed and be able to pay off the rest… no go in this case.