Grande Recap Again

I’ve been using the whole milk mozzarella exclusively for almost two months now. We were using a good quality cheese before so it was not like we went from the worst to the best. While we really like the company I am just not convinced it is that much better of a product than other quality cheeses. I understand the processes they go through and what that means to quality and consistency but I am just not perceiving the difference on my pizzas. I think I’ve been trying to convince myself it is that much better because it is just in my personality to have and want the best of everything. If we used the same amount of cheese as most others I think I would still go with Grande, but we use significantly more than most. Our portions are what we are known for so we are really not able to cut our portions much, if at all, by going with Grande because it spreads better.

I do, however, perceive a big difference in their provolone, romano. parmesan and to a lessor extent ricotta and will be using those products.

I know others have and are experimenting with Grande right now so I just wanted to see how everyone still feels.

They dropped off five lbs of riccotta and 20 of Mozz for us to test. The riccotta was excellent but not well suited to our use. I could not begin to justify the price on the mozz. I don’t think it was any better at all for a delivery pizza and the price was just silly.

What sold me on Grande was when I baked a half/half pie. One half w/ Grande and one half w/ other mozz. If you want to stick around, you better use portion control. Otherwise, in this environment, you aren’t going to make much money. I use 11 oz. on a 16 inch…that’s the way pizza is supposed to be. I see fellow operators putting 14-16 ounces on a pie and I think…why would anyone want to eat that!

Our portion on a 16" is also 11 oz. It looks great.