Has Anyone used a starter, poolish, or levain to make dough?

Brief Intro:

I opened my pizzeria on Jan. 1. I have no direct experience running a pizza joint, but do have a degree from CIA, and VA Tech ( lab instructor too). I have 20 years of varied experience in restaurants - mostly fine dining. I even sold food for a major distributor. I have some solid baking skills, but never did it every day for years. My specialty is garde manger and chaucuterie.
The thing I learned first is that pizza dough is not like baking bread - I tried it… It worked but was inconsistent. Second, I am running a marketing company - NOT - a restaurant…
The place is called “The Kind Pie”. I am located in a high income area of Atlanta, GA. I sell Organic / All Natural Pizza, along with artisan sandwiches, pasta dishes, and salads. High end stuff at mid-level pricing. All paper and plastic can be composted. Like Pizza Fusion but the food taste good…
Started by buying bread from a local baker (James Beard winner)… Too costly - now I am baking it here. That’s what brings me to the starter. I use a poolish or levain to make my focaccia and ciabatta. It is a little more work than buying it, but cost a fraction of the price. My food cost on sandwiches is 20%, pizza: 15 to 20-%. I use only buffalo mozz. and San Marzano tomatoes. By using high quality ingredients I don’t have to use so much, and they do allot of work for me. By making bread I lower my cost to 15% on sandwiches. They have gotten rave reviews and lots of repeat business in the 3 weeks I have been opened, but getting the word out is the chore of the day - every day.
Today I will make pizza dough using the starter… tune in later…
To Dr. Dough… Dude - You are the Man. You have helped so much with this endeavor i can’t begin to thank you. I really enjoy food science and your bakers math reminds me of my day’s at CIA. I could read your entries here over and over and never get bored.
What is your opinion on using starters?