Help on choosing a new slicer?

I am looking to buy a slicer that I can slice meat very thin without shredding it. There are so many option with the size of the blade and horse power. I am having a difficult time choosing. Any Advice?

Thanks
Jeff

There are a few things you need to consider (and I’m NOT an expert).

If you’re talking about deli lunch meats, you need less of a slicer than if you’re going to slice cheese or steak. Cheese is HARD on a slicer.

Also, you can get a belt driven slicer or (I think) a gear driven one.

Finally, the adjustment mechanism on some can move faster than others (so a 1 creeps up toward a 2, etc).

If you ever plan to slice cheese, get one that can slice cheese. I believe a sharp blade and a true angle on the slicer are the two most important parts to getting a good thin slice. Obviously, you need enough speed and HP to slice, but deli meats are pretty darned soft.

Hi Jeff: I have a chart that helps a person select a slicer.
I do not Know how to print that chart Here.
If you will send your Email or Fax # to pizzaovens@aol.com I will send you the chart.

George Mills

HOBART IS THE BEST ONE IN MY OPINION

definatley belt driven if you plan on doing any cheese, and at least a 12" blade. i have a berkel and it works great. .3 hp and a 12" blade. it comes with built in sharpening stones (so you dont make the whole kitchen cry when you are slicing onions)

but they are a pain in a$$ to get really clean. we slice meat, cheese, lettuce, cabbage, tomatoes, and onions. all that junk builds up on the guard and you have to use a socket wrench to fully remove to get all the crack and crevices. i swear, i wish someone would come up with a easily removable blade guard.

slicers can be a huge health hazard if not cleaned properly and health inspectors love to check them first (after they have checked your dumpster door flap!)

i’ve only used berkel, but other reputable brands would be hobart, or anvil