Hired a GM, now what?

I actually have so many questions for this topic but the one most pressing is with regards to labor costs. My GM is salaried so does not clock in/out. My POS will run a labor report but I feel without her included, the report is inaccurate. She feels her costs should be put into restaurant expenses, not labor percentage.

So do you include your managers salary in the daily/hourly labor percentage?
Do your managers work the line in place of an hourly employee to keep those percentages down? That’s about where I am at this point because my labor is entirely too high for sales.

Thanks!

Absolutely. Her salary should be included in the daily/hourly labor percentage. The operations don’t happen without her labor.

When I worked as a GM, I worked 10-7 5 days a week. Each daily or batch of paperwork we did had me down for 9 hours on the day I worked. I, as I presume most were, was a working manager. Not only did I do the ‘management’ type stuff, I was also the fastest guy at everything else in the store. If it was slow, an hourly employee would be sent home instead of me. Some places (Little Caesars) use their manager as a source of revenue because of how many hours they are able to save.

I wouldn’t call that an ideal way to run a store but that’s how I’ve seen it done.

OK so adding her labor in, my percentage from Jan-Aug 2012 is at 45%.

The question is, how to drop labor down 20%? The only way I can think to do it is put her on a scheduled shift and start cutting other employees.

BTW my food costs are 40%. Between labor and this - I’m dying.

Yep… you need to get those costs down. Without knowing more about your operation I can not say whether your food cost issue is menu pricing, portion, portion control, theft, waste etc etc. Also, without knowing what you are including in “food cost” it is impossible to say how far off your 40% is from ideal. If cost includes paper and supplies it could easily be 30% or higher and still be in line.