Hiring Delivery Drivers

I’m new to the business and can’t seem to get a consensus about the best contract/arrangement for delivery drivers. What is the industry norm about wages? How much liability do I assume if the driver gets into an accident while delivering an order? Do I pay or contribute to the drivers’ insurance premiums? I could really use some sound advice from experts.

The industry norm is for drivers to get an above minimum hourly wage, fuel or mileage reimbursement (usually based on a per order basis) and of course tips. My drivers are at $6.00/hr + $1.50 per order they take + tips.

As far as insurance, the drivers’ insurance is meaningless. If s/he get in an accident delivering for you, their insurance company will tell them to pound sand (in about 99% of cases). Then the other person’s insurance company will sue you, because you have the deep pockets. As far as how much liabilty you assume… all of it. If your drivers kills somebody the other party is going to sue for millions.

You need a non-owned auto policy to cover you. I just dropped an old carrier for HRH insurance. They have a program with the NAPO and the rates are fantastic.

I pay my drivers 7 per hour 1 per delivery and they keep all their tips they average about 10-14 dollars per hour and on weekends make up to 18 per hour with everything added in. Insurance in Canada is different then what you have so all i can suggest is talk to an expert!

Pizzaguy
Do you have your drivers do anything but drive? Do you cover them under your WCB policy? Do you deduct payroll taxes?

I am currently going with contract drivers. Their company, car, insurance, etc. $3 for up to 1 mile $1 for each additional 1/2 mile automaticly set by the POS software.

I guess the pay for drivers would be different in other areas of the country. I’m in PA and we pay our guys min. wage 5.15 plus .80 a delivery (we keep .20) plus tips.