home made french fry question

Does anyone cut their fries from whole potatoes and if so do you blanch them in the fryer so they cook faster later during the busy times, if you do blanch how long do you do that for and then how long do you have to cook them later. If you don’t blanch how long does it take to cook from the raw state. One more thing, if you blanch how long can they keep for in the refrig.
Thanks, kel

hey kel,did you receive my note on pasta.i am very new to the computer stuf
if not go back to pasta and send no.please do not send my private msg,like i said,i am no computer geek,hardly know how to turn one on

Home made fries can be difficult, but definitely worth it.

We cook ours for around 10 minutes. Then cook to order for another 2-4. All potatoes are different. Depending on the sugar content of the potato, some will brown and look almost burnt, even though they taste great. Others will cook forever and never get a really dark brown. Sugar content will vary depending on where they’re from, how old they are, etc.

You must blanch them asap after cutting or they will get discolored. After they are blanched, they can stay in the fridge for 2-3 days. You can even freeze them if you like, but this is very hard on the oil.

I don’t recommend cooking start to finish at one time. This can tie up your fryer for up to 15 minutes. Of course this all depends on the thickness of the fry. Ours are about 1/2" square. If you’re doing shoestrings, I’m sure it will take a lot less time.

When I was in the concession business we cut our own fries. Thgis is what I have been told
Two important qualities of each variety determine the best way to prepare it. These are:

Starch content
Moisture content

High starch/low moisture potatoes are also described as having high solids. Washington russet varieties average 20-23 percent solids and are best for baking, mashing, frying or pureeing.