How important is pens,cups,hats as promos...

Do you feel that cups,pens hats or shirts with your name on it given away is worth the money?

I have had pens and magnets since I opened. One of the best advertising returns I have had is when I gave a pen and magnet to every student in the 3 schools close to my store. I would say sales doubles that week. The sales settled back down to 1 1/2 times the old normal level.

I have my drivers leave the pen with the customer when they have a credit card signed. I drop pens off at the businesses around my store and have seen them as far away as 100 miles. People take the pen so they will have my number in the car and can call on their way home for a pick up order.

So to anser you question yes I feel the pens are worth the money. I have no experience with hats,cups or shirts. Magnets are also well worth the money and Royster13 is a good guy to get them from.

I’d say cups and magnets should be best. Cups travel with the person. Shirts often get tossed in the trash or worn to change oil. Pens are normally cheap and no one pays attention to them.

Kid trinkets are what drives my kid’s desire to go to certain places. She likes little toys and people that dote all over her.

Promotional products…They all have their place but it depends…

Caps, tees, travel mugs, etc. are best done on a self liquidating basis…By self liquidating I mean you sell them at or near your cost so at the end of the day you have nothing out of pocket…These are good for building your “brand”…

Pens by themself do very little and you are not likely to get a return on your investment if that is all you do…But they they should be part of every businesses marketing…They are an inexpensive way to say “thank you” and the also reinforce your brand…This builds “loyalty”…They are also a great place to promote your web site…