How Many Pizzas Do You Sell?

Hello, I’m a newbie. Been lurking a while and catching up on all the great posts here. Am learning a lot and still have a long way to go.

I’m in Chicago. My partner and I are working on our business plan for a wood-fired pizzeria, and we’re trying to calculate our break-even point. The trouble is, how do you estimate (in an urban environment with other pizzerias), how many pizzas you’ll sell? How many customers will come in? How many people will order drinks, sides, coffee, a sweet for dessert, etc?

Rent in the neighborhood we’re looking at seems to average about $32/sf NNN annually, or about $48,000/year + utilities/taxes for the 1,500 sf space we think we’ll need. That’s obviously a huge commitment, and we’ll be up a creek if we estimate our sales too optimistically. So I’m curious, how did other people calculate this before opening? And how many pizzas do you sell per day? Our break-even at the moment looks like it’s around 80 servings/day, not including sides or beverages. It’s so hard to know if 80 people/day is a manageable number or not.

The neighborhood has about 15,000 households, and what we’re selling is actually a bit different than a standard pizza, but it’s the closest thing I can compare it to. That puts us in competition with other pizzerias mostly for dollars, not for product comparison. It’s a fairly trendy neighborhood with decent foot traffic, and that square footage price is to be in a very visible, high-traffic spot.

And how do you know if people will go for what you’ve got to sell? We’re excited and also scared, and hopefully, smart, too! Thanks in advance.

Is there anyone out there willing to help me out with your two cents?

I’m open to all input. Thanks.