I have a Glitch. I have a lease question

I have been in negotiations on a location. I was going to have a freestanding building built in a the parking lot of a strip mall. It WAS going to be a great deal 1350 sq ft for $2000 a month. I will be delivery and carryout. Owner is a builder by profession and was going to get a construction loan and use his sweat /land equity for the 25% down with the bank getting him into it with zero out of pocket. The city has decided if he builds in the parking lot he has to bring the whole lot up to the new code. Planters Green spaces etc. that and a few other kinks more than doubled the cost so now he cant build it . He has a spot in the strip mall coming open in 4-5 months. after he remodels 7,000 sq ft of unused space a tenant is moving. I could probably get him to remodel me a space in that section as well. but its on the end with almost zero visibility from the street. Why the current tenant would move there is beyond me.
He has offered me that tenants old space 1200 square feet for $900 a month with no NNN charges. but he wants me to make my own improvements.
I have a friend who is a licensed electrician. I can get the electrical done for 1500-2000 I think Plumbing will cost me 2000-3500 Again I have a friend who is a plumber. So I can hire someone to cut the concrete etc. all said I’m looking at 20,000-25,000 to have the place ready to open. I have access to that much on credit. as I don’t want to burn through my cash on hand. I want to have at least 20,000 in the bank when I open.