Inventory Software

Was wondering how many of you use inventory software like Chef Tec or Optimum Control?
I’ve only got one store and run through about $3000 worth of stock a week (this includes everything from flour to fried to beer and liquor.
I already have cameras and a POS so employee theft has not been an issue.
What I’m asking is, is it worth the investment or is this for multiple stores?

Thanks!

I’ve no knowledge of those specfic systems - how do you control/monitor your inventory at the moment?

I use a simple Excel spread sheet that helps with inventory control, menu pricing, food cost calculations etc. It took about 2 hours in total to put it together. I have only one location but to me (OCD inspired) it gives me peace of mind.

daddio…can you share that sheet or possibly help us build or own?..excel is very difficult to work with.

There are some excellent tutorials at www.Lynda.com Excel is an important piece of software for any business…

Here is an example of a simple Excel spreadsheet for inventory management. It is a PDF file but it will give you an idea of something you could put into Excel.
http://www.foodservicewarehouse.com/edu … ySheet.pdf

We have a bunch of other downloads available for restaurant operations that you guys can look at if interested.
http://www.foodservicewarehouse.com/edu … loads.aspx

Finally, this is an article on Conducting Inventory that you might find useful.
http://www.foodservicewarehouse.com/edu … ntory.aspx

No one tool is going to stop staff theft. I.ve posted a few times on this issue having been subject to staff theft shortly after we opened.