Labor Cost

I am working right now with a labor % 20 Or less this includes foh management and boh management as well as assets manager and maintenence our bonus program pushes to make it more like 17 % does this number seem like it is about average as a boh manager i find it difficult to keep this number down and correctly manage my staff as to achieve the 20 % or lower i need to work a line for both lunch and dinner . any input on this would help is there a correct or incorect way to split management labor as its own %

20%?? I would love to see my labor percentage that low. I try to get it around 28%. We use a sliding labor scale based on sales, and for last week i should have been 31% or lower against my scale.

Labor cost where you are only counting hourly wages and not the other items like employer share of fica, work comp, unemployment etc are make-believe numbers.

Even more out of the reality zone are labor cost %s where the person working day to day running the store is not paid inside the percentage quoted.

If you want to compare labor costs with other shops here, roll in all the costs and at least a market wage factor for owners working in the store. My labor costs for all labor involved in the operation of the store is 30% of sales. That includes all payroll related costs.

Yeah I am at 25% TO 30% most weeks. Depends on sales figures. Good weeks tend to be 25% I think that you are achieving a great margin at 20%. Does your menu lean towards higher ticket items?

He states in his inital post that he is not counting his own hours. That makes the numbers pretty hard to compare to those from a business where labor is fully reported.