Lunch Special run amok

Hi guys, I have been reading posts here for a couple months now. I’m not an owner yet, I’m a manager. Here’s my dilemma though. I recently talked the owner into ditching our lunch specials on nights and weekends and I’m getting concerns from my long time employees that we’ll scare customers away with this move. The lunch specials are one slice cut off a 24" pizza a side salad and a fountain drink for 5.94 add a dollar after 4PM and a two slice special that’s the same way add a dollar after 4 PM. Does anybody think taking the special away after lunch hours will hurt business? The owner has already stated that we sell it at a loss. I feel that people who come in to dine in will be more apt to buy higher tickets if the special is not available. Thoughts?

You will likely lose customers if you ditch it. Most of these customers are most likely “bottom feeders”.

I’m rereading your post and your saying these are “lunch” specials. In my store the lunch specials are ended at 3pm. No questions asked.

What works for me is " I have lunch specials , and dinner specials. This way I can cater to “these” customers who are price concerned. I would get food cost under control and price it so you can profit instead of selling at a loss.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Selling any kind of a regular special at a loss is going DOWN a on-way street.
I’m a big advocate of bundling for my “specials” while keeping my pizza prices in the profit range. A good lunch special would be pizza at your regular price but toss in a free order of bread sticks (customer cost: $2.50, your cost: $0.25, saving to the customer is $2.25) your margin on the pizza should easily cover your cost of the bread sticks, it’s a win, win situation.
Tom Lehmann/The Dough Doctor

Your boss decided to compete in “The race to the bottom”

Run the numbers, see what percentage of your customers are the bottom-feeders and how much the revenue will be hurt without them.