Members List

I noticed we have several members within this site…my question to ALL is why members do not wish to fill out their profile with information. I have been visiting this site for many many years and I have often wondered why people are so secretive.
I enjoy visiting other establishments of people I have met on this site…but I find it hard to check out others when they don’t share anything about themselves…I would be very interested in learning more about the members that participate in these forums.
I’m sure others feel the same way.

Speaking for myself, and probably others who remain “secretive”, I just don’t want my customers, employees, competitors or vendors to know what I type here.

I’ve complained about customers and employees from time to time. I tell vendors things are tough and we’re having trouble making ends meet when the opposite may be true. I discuss my marketing plans and implementation, which I would rather not have my competitors read.

There are a whole slew of reasons to remain anonymous. Do you remember gobpile? She was on here complaining about her landlord (badmouthing is a better word) and in popped her landlord via a Google search. I’m sure that did nothing to help that relationship.

I’m with Piper on this, I don’t feel like I could be as honest and open here if employees, vendors, customers and competitors were reading. I’ve only been at my shop for a few months and am still extremely new to this business and learning on the fly, but I certainly don’t want others to be aware of that.

When I first started reading these forums, I actually found my main independent competitor was on here talking about how much they were struggling and it completely changed the way I view them and their business.

Yup, what they said ^

Oops…I’m sorry I think I stepped on some toes maybe it’s better if we remain invisible then that way we don’t offend anybody.