My lack of management skills?

Hi everyone, I’m new here… I have found so much wonderful information, thank all of you for the great forums.
I have some questions, if some of you verterans don’t mind me picking your brains a bit :wink:
I have recently been made the store manager at a small town pizzaria I work in. It is a franchise store, though the company is small. I got this position because I was giving the owner my 2 week notice. I was frustrated at the lack of standards in the store. No portion control, filthy kitchen and dining room, customer base is constantly angry. I think they actually come to the store expecting a problem. When I gave my notice I was a shift manager /leader, and seemed when I made a step foward in the positive direction, we would take 10 steps back. The owner basically told me he hates the place, and wants someone to run it, and offered me higher pay and profit sharing to do this for him. I have had the “Manager” posistion for 4 weeks now (I’ve worked in the store for 8 Mos) I make the schedual, owner “re-arranges it”, and they are not necissary changes, it usually adds more hours and upsets the staff. I try to get people in to clean up, he tells them not to come and doesn’t tell me of this change, then tells me my method of letting them sign up for extra hours won’t work. Here’s where my questions come in.
Am I going about the changes the wrong way? Owner wants me to increase sales (I agree) BUT not before we get all the employees on the same page making pizza, get food cost under control and get the store cleaned up. I feel these changes are the foundation of keeping customers happy.
Am I focusing on the wrong starting point?
He’s got me writting people up over dirty toilets, but won’t let me clean the mold out of the walk-in. Seriously, I think his priorities are whack. Any advice is welcome, even if i’m the one that needs to change.