New to Pizza

Hey guys (and ladies),

I am brand new to the pizza world. So new that I haven’t actually worked in a pizzeria yet even!

I am a chef, for Sodexho…and currently am serving as a Kitchen Lead / Catering Chef at the University of Idaho. I did the whole culinary school thing at Western Culinary Intitute (Le Cordon Bleu), in Portland Oregon. etc etc etc

I came to this board one day…just snooping across the net, and was addicted immediately to the entire thing.

I am seriously leaning towards joining all of you in the pizza world…even if it means going back to a grunt level and learning the business from the ground up.

I was wondering if there are any books out there that are “the pizza bible” so to speak that I might look into. Granted I am WELL aware that in the food industry…books don’t do much teaching. I am simply looking at an industry point of view type of deal that will give me some pointers, and maybe an inside track to understanding what all I need to know.

I am learning a lot just from reading everything that all you wonderful contributors write…I simply can not peel myself from the computer when I start reading the boards.

Thanks for all the help you’ve given so far, and I hope maybe there’s something out there for me to keep going on learning about the pizza world.

Solon

despite your wonderful education (wish I would have went to Le Cordon Bleu) and your experience in food you should get in on the ground level and learn the aspects of the business first. It’s so much different than other types of restaurants. I too attended Culinary school, and the education did help and so did my fifteen years in the restaurant industry, but I was glad that I went through the training I did. Get in with a pizza place, perhaps as an assistant manager and learn how things work. That’s what I did. I am currently working as GM of an indy pizza place and working toward ownership.