New to the business and neck deep already.

Hello All,

Here is my story. I was in public service for 8 years and just recently lost my job. I have been considering opening a pizzeria for over 10 years and recently secured a PRIME spot for my pizzeria. The spot is absolutley perfect and sits on on a corner lot on the busiest street in the heart of town…The location is perfect but I have to invest in building a kitchen and remodeling the facility…

I have lived in my home town of approximately 30K my entire life and know a good percentage of the people in the area. I have a good feel for what the community needs and wants. My town is a suburb of a larger city of approx. 120K. The area I live in is much nicer and family oriented than the larger city.

In my town of 30K there are 4 existing pizzerias. Dominoes is one of them, and then there are three independents. Two of the independents serve the same recipe because one was spawned from the other when a long time emploee left and started his own place. Those two places are very small and can only handle 15-20 patrons for dining in…but their pizza is about a 7 out of 10.

The fourth pizzeria is a mammoth of a place…4500 sqft. But their food is HORRIBLE (as is their service). I rate their pizza at about 4 out of 10…I wont even buy it. This place stays in business because it has the room for the local sports teams and organizations to hold their meetings and parties there. I cant tell you how many times I have heard people say “This place sucks, but there is no where else to go.”

My place is 2500sqft and has enough room for 70-80 patrons and a small party room. Rent is very reasonable.

This brings in me. A guy with no experience in this business,but I do have a little time to learn. I plan on serving a New York style pizza baked in a Bakers Pride model 452 deck oven. Also plan on serving subs, salad, and hot wings. The usual stuff…nothing fancy…simple.