OMG I just find out my manager did .....

I just found out my one manager has been doing drugs at work and is getting drugs at work. I asked my other manager if he noticed anything strange about the other guy and he spilled his guts telling me everything. I am really thinking the best thing to do is confront him and if he denies it I will impliment drug tests. I will give him 5 weeks off work without pay and have him come to me with his wife with proof that he is getting help and is off the drugs before he can come back. His wife doesn’t know right now.
Also if he comes back to work he is demoted to regular staff duties.
Am I being smart here or am I missing something?
Thanks for help, I am new at being the owner.

If you know for sure that he is buying drugs in YOUR business, why would you consider keeping him on. What do you think would happen if the leading story on your local 11 oclock news were “XYZ Pizzaria Busted with Drugs!” You think your business would survive? This guy doesn’t give a sh!t about you or your business and you should send him to the curb tonite. Anything less shows the rest of the staff that they have nothing to worry about even if they go so far as to buy drugs at work. Other than stealing your money, I see this as as blatent of a spit in the face as you can get.

Have proof before you get rid of him. He is a real liability behind your operation and you don’t know what he is really doing there at all. he could be treating customers badly, stealing money or whatever.

I would try to catch him in the act before you do anything.

you need to be careful because in some states they can collect unemployment because they consider drug addiction a disibilty and will aprove there unemployment.

I’ve heard that if you suspend an employee(“give him 5 weeks off”) and don’t have documented proof or a good enough reason to do so, the employee can go and make you pay those weeks that he wasn’t even there.

Just fire him.