Opening a delivery only outfit - no prior experience

Hi everyone,

I’m new to these forums, so be gentle with me :slight_smile:

I live in Hong Kong in an area with only one place that does pizza, and they only offer 6 pizzas on their menu, one size and one choice of crust. The only option around my neighbourhood is to call up one of 4-5 places that will deliver here, but they all take at least 45 minutes to get the food here.

The area I’m in is less than 1km x 0.5km in area, yet all the buildings are highrise apartments ranging from 15 floors to over 50 with 6 to 8 apartments per floor, I estimate there are over 10,000 apartments just in this small area.

I’ve been thinking of opening a pizza place doing delivery and possibly carry out. Thing is aside from a brief stint as an assistant manager in a restaurant once up on a time, I have no knowledge about pizza making (eating yes, making no).

Pizza is very popular here, I know I have a captive market in this area… I even have the money. So I’m writing my business plan and thought I’d come here and ask for your advice. What should I be aware of that I might not have considered ?

I figure I can deliver within 20 minutes, which will be a huge improvement over the currently available choice. Of course I also plan to offer a better product at a competitive price… then again I’msure everyone says that :slight_smile: Incidentally a 14" authentic (their words) New York style cheese and Pepperoni pizza is US$15.50 Typical price range for 14" Pizzas is US$14 to $18 - Additional toppings run US$1.30 to $1.95

Looking forward to hearing what you guys think and asking probably a lot more questions !!

Thanks

Sean

make sure you get to know the ins and outs of this business before you commit to anything. Its harder then you think.

Thanks RobT,

I realise this might be a hard question to answer, but what was it that you found most problematic when starting out ?

Thanks

Sean