paying delivery driver

I have my own electric GEM delivery mobile.
I am considering paying someone like “wait staff”, think it is about $3.50 here in AZ, they drive the GEM and keep the tips.
Like a wait staff, I understand they can be given certain duties as keeping the tables clean and tidy around the customer area.
I have never done the before and would like some advice of thos who do, espeially with drivers.
Otis

Unless, they are making good money, you won’t find anyone to do it for just tips…or thereabouts.

My guys average 16 an hour, and I pay them $6.25. State law is 2.17 but there is no way I would do that.

That’s not very good pay to deliver pizzas, do you realize that pizza delivery is one of the most dangerous jobs out there? Not only do drivers have to worry about ediot drivers, but they have the possibility of getting shot for the money they carry. If you’re going to pay them that low of a wage then the only duties they should have is delivering your pizzas. I would suggest paying them at least 7 dollars an hour plus tips.

at your shop, do they drive your car or their own car ?
Otis

Here’s what I do…

1. I have insurance that screens my driver selections - whether they are to drive my car or their own, we pull a MV report and get them specifically listed as OK with my insurance.
  2. At hire, they understand very clearly that they will deliver pizza when there are pizzas to be delivered, and when there are not pizzas to deliver, they will do whatever we need done. They answer phones, they top pizzas, and in particular, when it slows down after dinner, they typically do all the dishes.
  3. Due to that, I pay them just like an insider. Decent by the hour pay, with a couple raises within the first 3-4 months based on knowledge they gain and tasks they take on proactively.