PCI Compliance/Credit Card Processing

I am new to the PMQ so please forgive if I overstep any rules or offend anyone, that is certainly not my intent. There has been much news lately about PCI Compliance and the unfortunate breaches on server networks. The latest to fall against hackers is Heartland Payments. Last Week a class action law suit was filed against Heartland. It is far to early to tell exactly what transpired and if Heartland was truly PCI Compliant. As I understand it, the breach was on the older legacy system which most likely was not PCI Compliance. The simple fact is that Heartlands own internal IT folks didn’t catch the breach and that my friends is a huge problem for Heartland. What does this mean to you? This is a wake up call for anyone who may be using non-compliant software to process credit cards. There are still some legacy DOS based systems out there being used. If hackers can breach a high level processing platform, hacking into a small restaurant system is a walk in the park. The fines that are levied on the likes of Card Systems, TJMax, RBS WorldPay, and now Heartland may destroy these companies ( Card Systems went under after its breach). Imagine what the potential fines would do to a small pizza owner. Be safe always, and always be compliant.

Contact me for more PCI Compliance Info

Blatant ads are not welcome here. Rather than ask people to contact you, respond to posts that you have expertise to offer. Fill out your profile. PMQ is a commercial enterprise and offers advertising space for a fee. The TT is for non-commercial discussion, though vendors are welcome.

Sorry to offend, however, I am not selling anything. PCI Compliance is a complex animal and I only offer information at no charge to anyone. As I said in the post, I am new to this site, and I thought I already signed up, but will go back to review my misstep. Thanks for the info Charles.