Position Responsibilities

This is probably an awkward question. As noted in an earlier post, I am quite new to this whole food service business.

Since I recently took this place over, I have had many issues with current employees that say that “its not my job, I make pizzas” or “thats the delivery drives job” or something similar. Now I know that I am in charge and all.

What I need is some input on how you guys set forth responsibilities of your different positions. We are small. We mostly have a pizza maker, fryer operator, and a delivery driver and a counter person. On the weekends we have 2 pizza makers, 2 fryer operators and a counter person…who my wife or I back up if needed.

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Every kitchen has its traditions. If your crew is used to the tasks being divided a certain way don’t mess with it as long as everyone is on the same page and all the tasks are getting done. Unless… that system is requiring you to have too many people on the schedule. For example if your store history is that the counter person restocks the condiments and paper supplies somebody still has to do that on slower shifts when there is no counter person.

As a practical approach, I suggest that you get a couple of long time employees that do different jobs and take them for a beer. Tell them you want to understand how things have been done in the past and ask what they think about it. Does it work? Does it make sense? Is it fair? Let them know both that you are the owner and in charge, but that you respect their opinions and experience. If you decide to make changes at some point you want allies not critics!