Providing nutritional information

I have a customer that wants me to provide the nutritional information on several pizzas and a few menu items. Most of the items are from-scratch, so there’s a lot of work involved - no problem on that though.

The thing I’m worried about is, what if I’m wrong? I’m not a food scientist and I’m certainly not an expert on creating food labels with nutritional content. I’m feeling very leery about saying, with authority, that “product X has 8g of fat” or “produce Y has 210mg of sodium”. It seems like there’s some legal risk here and I’m just not feeling confident. If it was as simple as collecting the boxes from around the store are relaying the info, that would be fine. But how the heck can I be sure of my process with homemade sauce or dough?

Any suggestions?

Tom Lehman can help you with this I believe. I seem to recall that he has someone at AIB that can create the info from your labels and recipes. You do use the same amount of each ingredient for each batch of dough and sauce you mix, correct? You do have a standard amount of dough and sauce that is used for each size pizza, correct. It’ll be a lot more straight forward than you think.

Yikes…That sounds like a “slippery slope”…

http://www.foodliabilitylaw.com/tags/nutritional-information/ I found this link that might give you some food for thought and way more questions than you started with…

Thanks Paul. Yes, the amount of dough and sauce for every pizza is standard. But what about getting down to figuring the nutritional content in 1 oz of my sauce? The sauce is made from scratch. I’m down to starting with the nutritional content of tomatoes. What about sugar added? Does that add gram for gram to the sugar content in the sauce? How about sodium from the salt? There’s a lot of room to make a mistake.