Purchasing a Pizza Shop

The Pizza place that I have been a manager at for 6 years recenlty closed due to eviction, the place was bought year and a half ago and moved to a new location which was a much more visable location than before. The owner had a gambling problem and failed to pay lease payments hence the eviction. My question is the landlord has approaced me about taking over the restaurant, the landlord has been given everything in the shop to cover back lease payments by the court and wants $20,000 to move in, the equipment will be signed over to me at the end of the lease which has 3 years remaining.

A little about the shop equipment it has double stack mm oven, 2-2 door refrigerators, walkin cooler/freezer combo, deep fryer, pasta cooker, kegerator, beer cooler, mug froster, radiant system pos, booths tables and chairs, ice maker and all odds and ends. In its first year in the new location sales were $575,000, lease payment is $5900 on 5500 sq ft. All equipment except oven and pasta cooker are a year and a half old. Oven worked great before shop closed.

Population is 39,000 and median income is $40,000 we have Pj’s, Dominos, Pizza Hut and 3 small independents . This paticular place has been in business for 23 years with a great name until the new owner squandered all the money and the place closed all of a sudden, I get asked by former customers all the time if it is going to reopen. Was wondering if this sounded like a good deal or not.

The deal for getting into the business is pretty good. The rent is not. Assuming the rent you quoted includes all common area charges and the sales you reported is net of sales taxes the occupancy expense is higher than 12%. If there are common area expenses beyond that rent figure or you were reporting sales including sales tax the picture is even worse.