reasonable sales volume?

Hello all,

I’m a newbie here, I live in San Jose, CA and i’m looking to fulfill my dream of owning/operating a pizza shop.

I am doing all of the prep work right now, buying used equipment, looking at properties, etc.

I am finalizing my business plan and I want to know what a reasonable sales volume would be?

I am estimating 50 large pizzas per day @14.99. Most of the pizzas in my area go for $18.00 to $30.00 for a large pizza. I want to be quality, but affordable. Also, I want to offer hot sandwiches, salads, bread sticks,etc.

I have restaurant cooking/management experience, but not in making pizzas. I will attempt to work for domino’s or pizza hut for the next few months to gain experience.

In a city of 1 million, how much can I expect to sell? According to my real estate agent, the traffic count is about 100,000 cars per day by my proposed location.

thanks

Hi pizzajoey

It sounds like you’ve thought about your planning which is excellent. Without sounding dismissive, predicting sales is very difficult if not impossible. Sure we can give you a ball park anywhere from $2,000 to $20,000+ a week is possible but not really that helpful to you.

There are so many factors, location, competition, market saturation, market pricing, pre launch marketing etc etc etc. You best bet is to find someone nearby, of a similar business and see if you can find out how much they do that will give you some idea of potential but then again every business and business owner is different.

Hope this helps and good luck with the planning! Keep asking questions and we’ll all try and answer them.

Wiz

That is a “skill testing question” that usually involves a guess that may be 80% lower or higher than reality…It depends on how much competition, how much marketing they do, price point of their product, price expectations of your client base, quality expectations of your client base, employment and/or unemployment rate in area, etc. etc. etc…