SESAC

Got a letter stating I need to pay this group for lic. for music to be played in my restaurant. They have a very small group of people and I do not think I have ever heard any of them before. I tossed it. I got a letter today stating that they were following up and just sign and pay…
anyone get this?

SESAC is pretty small compared to BMI and ASCAP. Just don’t play any of their catalog and you don’t have to pay them a penny.

Where do you get your music that you play? If its from muzac or Sirius for business, the licensing fees are already covered

Pandora also has a commercial music service that takes care of the licensing. ( http://www.pandora.com/#!/everywhere/business )

Once you are on the radar to of one of these outfits they do not tend let go. Do your research, pick one of the licensed suppliers and move on.

I’ve been a professional musician 30+ years, a lot longer than I’ve been in the pizza biz. PLEASE, pay your ASCAP SESAC BMI fees.

You are using intellectual property owned by someone else. Even if it is a corporation, that entity probably pays something to the composers/arrangers/performers of the music. (Maybe not pre-1960s music as much as more contemporary things, for lots of reasons.) If the rights holders get no money, there is little incentive to create new works.

What if I walked in, grabbed one of your take-out menus, photocopied it and put MY name on it instead of yours? Same thing. Stealing.

Please pay 'em. Then you can have live music in your shop, whether you pay the performers or not. Although, I’d certainly encourage you to pay them, too.

This has bopped around Facebook for a number of years.

Craigslist Ad: