stolen tip jar

I am a manager at a pizza restaurant and I have a situation I would like some advice on. Some time ago our tip jar lock box was stolen with quite a bit of money in it. It was hidden in an inconspicuous location in our dining room behind the waitress station, but all of our employees could find it if they looked hard enough. It would be hard to believe a customer would walk behind there, find the box and then take it, so we think that would leave only employees and a few maintenance workers(carpet and beer line cleaners) as possible suspects. It was a full week between the time the person responsible for the box saw it last and noticed it was gone. We(the General Manager and I) have a strong suspicion of one of our employees. Although he is a good worker he has his issues. He has half of his paycheck taken away for child support, he is in his mid 30s(kind of old for his line of work), and kind of a manipulative character at that. He previously worked at another location of the same company. They had their tip jar stolen twice while he was there: never had anyone brought to justice. Again all we have is a strong suspicion, absolutely no hard evidence; It was a full week before anybody knew it was missing. We don’t want to outright accuse him. If we do confront him and he is innocent, we break a certain trust and respect which I believe is important. Any advice?

Terminate his employment with no reason given. Just take the hit on the unemployment. Don’t comment to anyone on reasons, especially to him or to other employees.

BTW, what is a tip box doing sitting around for weeks, let alone days? Why would you do that?

Not really sure why you have a tip jar full of tips??? Whose tips are/were they?

I would do away with that ASAP.

As for the employee, I agree with Bodgeway get rid of him. But to avoid discussing the matter with anyone.

Kris

Anyone who leaves money lying around, for what ever reason, is pretty stupid in my opinion.