Switching from Planetary to Spiral mixer

I just ordered a new Univex Spiral Mixer at Pizza Expo. I’ve never used one before. Anyone have any experience with one. Currently we dissolve salt and sugar in water ad pour in first, followed by Oil, Flour. and instant yeast - mix for 12 minutes.

when I had my Impasti spiral, and my Hobart, nothing different…but I add oil a few minutes after the yeast/h20

I’m in agreement with Patriot’s Pizza. Add water, then salt and sugar (if used) then flour and IDY on top of the flour, mix a couple of minutes and add the oil. No need to stir/whisk/ or anything else to the salt& sugar in the water. Mixing time will be essentially the same as it was for the planetary mixer, watch your finished dough temperature though, in many cases I find that it is lower with a spiral mixer than with a planetary mixer, if you find that to be the case adjust your water temperature accordingly.
Tom Lehmann/The Dough Doctor

I’m understanding that we use Speed 1 for 2-3 minutes to combine the ingredients and then switch to speed 2 for 6 -8 minutes to mix. So I should put in the oil between the 2 phases.
It should get here tomorrow. (My new dough rounder should also get here tomorrow)

Yes, water, salt, sugar, flour and IDY, then mix just until you don’t see any dry flour, add the oil while continuing to mix in low speed, then change to the next higher speed to mix the dough (typically 8 to 10-minutes).

Thanks for the help.

Our procedure is ice-water in the bowl, all dry ingredients on top, 12-minute mix time. Oil is added with 4 minutes left, or when there is no more dry flour creeping about the bottom edges of the mixing bowl.

I do not see myself ever using a planetary mixer for dough ever again,

Hopefully I’ll feel that way sometime. How long do you mix at speed 1 before switching to speed 2?