Tempurature for yeast.

Can anyone tell me what is the proper tempurature for pre-mixing fresh compressed yeast prior to making dough? Throughout many posts, I have read many different and contradicting things.

See Tom Lehmann’s reply in this thread: http://www.pmq.com/tt/viewtopic.php?p=30032#30032.

PN

After reading this post I began to think about this so I Googled it and was suprised to find a ton of conflicting advice. I have read anywhere from 100 to 130 some say under 110 is too low but all say over 130 is too high. The general average that I found suggested a mean temperature of 110. I have been doing my yeast at 100 for the last 4 years and it seems to work for me so that is what I am going to stick with.

Thanks for the info guuys. Right now I’m mixing the yeast in 95F water for about 10 minutes. I’ll try raising the tempurature to 105F and see the difference. :smiley:

Above about 110-115 degrees you will kill the yeast. The mixing process adds heat to the temp you start with.

The temp you want depends on several things. How soon you want to use the dough makes a difference. We use the coldest water we can get. In the summer we may put a bucket of water in the walk-in over night to get it colder. By using cold water we slow down the action of the yeast and extend the useful life of dough.

We make the dough in the morning. Ideally, we will use the dough the following night but if we are busier than expected we CAN use it that same night. It also is usable the 3rd night. Generally we have two days dough on and after we make dough which gives us a lot of flexibility.

If you make dough with 100 degree water the yeast action will be fire right up. Great if you want to use the dough in a couple of hours, not so great if you might need to keep it awhile.