Thinking hard about starting my own pizza place...

Hi, I’m new and I want to know how crazy I am. I want to start my
own pizza co/del business in a town of 12k. We have a pizzahut, dominoes, east of chicago, 2 indys and a couple of bars that serve pizza.
On the plus side, this is a very pizza oriented town. I’m doing my research, and my business plan now. I have 15 years of experience, and
I know my market well. My concept is to startup w/25k, concentrate
on fast cheap good pizza, heavy emphasis on delivery. I have a great idea
on desert & taco pizzas, and breadsticks, that will give me my own idenity.
I do plan on practically living there, and having 2-3 employees. I want to
be simple as possible and expand slowly. My plan also is in about 6 mo.
having dine in as well, especially lunch (no buffett, pizza’s by the slice
subs and fries.) Pizza hut’s the only one that has dine in.
I will use frozen crust, and am working on my own sauce. Nobody does
doorhanging, and I think doorhanging will be a big part of my advertising budget. So am I crazy?

I think you are crazy to use frozen crust. One of the main things you can do to differentiate your place from the chains and bars is to serve a great product. That isn’t going to happen with frozen crust. Spend 3k for a used hobart and make dough everyday. It’s cheaper,($.20 per doughball or less) and can make a great pizza. You will also have to be careful trying to open with only $25k. Try to find a building that used to be a pizza place or some other kind of food establishment. Renovations and leasehold improvements can add up very quickly.

I think you are crazy - but I think that everyone in here would consider themselves crazy for doing it to. If you go for it, go for it - and don’t look back. If not, then don’t. There’s nothing wrong with punching a clock, it’s just not for me.

This is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. I think am a point