Thinking of opening a shop...Tell me why I shouldn't!

OK, so here’s the deal. I have ZERO experience in the pizza business. I do have food service experience (owned a 2 location frozen yogurt shop). My entire experience in the pizza world is that I love to eat all kinds of pizza :slight_smile:

Now, here’s the scoop. Small town (25k people). 3 “cheap” chains (Zanzi’s, Dominoes, Little Ceasar’s). 1 overpriced chain (Donato’s) and a high priced (but good) local chain (Cristy’s). There is not a NY style pizza shop in a 30 mile radius.

I have an opportunity that came out of left field 4 days ago to lease a space that has had a continuously operating pizza joint in it for 12 years. I can get the space as well as all the equipment in it for $1k/mo.

Obviously, if I pull the trigger I’m gonna be learning on the fly. I currently own 2 other businesses, and would be able to run the business side of things, but my presence would be limited to 15-20 hours/week.

The shop that was in the space was doing $250k/yr give or take as a carryout only place.

So, my vision is NY style pizza, with the house specialties all having a southern twist. We would also stock a wide variety of craft beers and ciders (bottled/sealed only).

Looking at everything, and all the research I’ve done in the last 72 hours leads me to believe that it would take a disaster on the level of a meteor to not at least break even. Making a profit right out of the gate seems likely.

So, since all of you have, literally, an infinite amount more experience than I do - tell me what I’m missing.

Someone you can trust to run it in your absence and plenty of systems to make it as fool proof as possible.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk

I’ve got the person to run it. The systems are why I’m here :slight_smile:

The question is, am I crazy that this is too good of an opportunity to pass up?