Walk-in cooler freezing

My walk-in cooler is freezing over night. What happens is I can turn the thermostat back and forth to get the cooler to kick off. The cooler will kick back on when the temp. goes above my setting but the problem is that it will not kick off when the temp falls below my setting. This is causing it to freeze up over night.

Goodmank,

It is actually freezing your walk in or it is icing up in the back? If it is the later, we used to have a problem with that when I was at Papa John’s, where the unit would condensate in the back (I think if I recall it was a problem with the charge.

Here’s an article I just found on google on it just in case this is the problem you are having:

http://energyboomer.typepad.com/energyb … reeze.html

Disclaimer: I am not a refrigeration expert, what I say here is third party hearsay.

The story I have been told is the temperature is controlled by the pressure of the refrigerant in the coils. If there is a leak and/or the refrigerant is low the compressor will continue to run trying to achieve the shut off pressure. This will cause the system to drop below the specified shut off temperature.

It is actually freezing up. dropping below 32 degrees. I think you may be right on your last post Daddio. That is what I am hearing from one AC guy

I’m not sure how accessible your system is, but there should be a small sight glass, usually on the filter dryer or in the line very close to it. If you see small bubbles flowing by, it’s a good bet that your system is low on coolant and you will need someone to recharge it.

There are only a few reasons why it would ice up.

1. Your coolant is low, if this is the case, you have a leak and it is not going to be cool.
  2. There is a restriction of air flow. Check to be sure the coils are clean. You can buy coil cleaner from a supply house. Spray it on, let it sit and then hose it off.
  3. You need to replace the filter, if you have one.