What should I expect from a franchiser

I am wanting to buy a pizza franchise from a company who has many stores but none in my area. I have no experience in food service with the exception of working at Pizza Hut in college 20 years ago. What should I expect from a franchiser? What should I ask the company? How can I tell if it is a good option or not? Am I crazy for even trying it in this economy? Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I am sure the independent owners on this board are independent for a reason. They want to call the shots.
Franchise provides you - one with no experience - a good base - good instruction and hopefully good name recognition.
But you are still only as good as your last pizza.
Franchising costs you anywhere from 5-10% of your gross sales in franchise fees and advertising fees.
Franchising costs you in creativity - you have to follow their lead whether you like or not.
Franchising will limit your growth or your area of growth if you want it down the road.
Franchising can make you a ton of money as well!
There is always pros and cons - weigh them carefully.

As one who has fairly recently franchised his concept but not yet sold a franchise to an outside “franchise owner”, my perspectvie is obviously limited.

I think I’d be most concerned with the quality of the franchised product and the mission/vision/values of the franchise organization. Marketing is great but it won’t overcome an average product and/or a mission which is at odds with your values and vision.

Having recently gained a competitor (franchise)in my market (I have over 15 years of experience), it has been interesting to take notes on what I perceive as strengths/weaknesses of the model.