What to do about lunch...

Hello,

I’m a newbie to this forum but not to pizza - just need some wisdom! We have a location that has been operating for three years - lunch and dinner Mon - Sat (closed Sunday). Last year we did 453K (town pop. 2000). Most restaurants in town are closed Monday and a couple are closed for lunch too. We are looking at closing Monday and for lunch (new hours Tue - Sat 4p to 9p). Estimating (based on historical data) we’ll lose 90k in sales (if dinner sales stay the same as last year). Any thoughts? My wife and I have 6 children and I feel the need to be a better father and husband - pizza has always been secondary.

Thanks for the help!

Ok small town with limited lunch options and not only do you close down a full day or two a week but now you want to write off 20% of your gross sales by cutting out all lunches? NUTS! Why not expand to full 7 day operations… hire a mgr to cover lunches and a few nights. Lighten your work load. Expand menu a little. Labor cannot be that high in a town that small to have a mgr or lead person and one or two others to cover the time. Why not instead of a 20% cut lets shoot for a 20% increase and with more time off for you in it all? Owning a business sucks at times because the public…also known as your income… expects service when they need or want it. Those are usually the same times you want personal or family tims also. This is also where you make the choice…do you own a business or a job? One is just work and the other is your career and future. One hopefully grows into a lifestyle while the other runs you into the ground. Just your brief description tells me you could go either way here. First ask where you will be in 5-10 years if you take route one and then route 2. You can impact this one way or another.