Which month is the quietest pizza month.

Hi Guys

Newbie here, great site. Managed to waste a whole weekend going through so much.

We have a newish pizza store, open about a year. What is the quietest month in pizza business? I only ask because we have suddenly dropped off a cliff and I hope it’s not something we have done.

Sam

That heavily depends on your market. For me, being in a downtown/college market, it’s January by far. Everyone is broke from the holidays, doing their New Years resolutions for 15 days and the weather is cold so they don’t want to walk over for lunch. Plus the students are on Winter break for the first two or three weeks. There’s another store owner here with a shop in a ski resort town who will do in a week what a good month is to me.

You would really have to tell us more about your place before we could give you a good answer.

Indie is right, a lot depends on your market. May and October are the worst for me because no visitors are in town. Our biggest months are (in typical decending order) March, January, December, July and February. March, December and January have all be the biggest month at one time or another. August has beat July 2 times in 12 years but is generally 10-15% less. April, June, November and September don’t s*ck but are nothing to write home about.

I know a lot of other stores say October is the best month of the year…

Thanks, i guess each shop will be different, i just wondered if there was a general rule. I will see as the years go if there is any pattern but it seems very random from day to day with us at the moment.

Cheers.

The daily fluctuations in business will drive you crazy if you let it. I had my best day of the year followed by the worst day in the history of my store back to back. Look at trends rather than daily sales.