Woodfired NYC Pizza By The Slice

Hi all

I’ve been running a mobile woodfired pizza cart for a few months now and am looking at taking the next step and getting a permanent site here in Wellington, New Zealand. At the moment we make 17" pies and sell them by the slice at festivals, private parties etc…Because these events are usually very busy, we have not had to deal with the issue of reheating slices and the rapid deterioriation that woodfired pizzas tend to suffer from if they sit around too long. I would naturally love to stick with a woodfired oven for a permanent site but am worried about quality control in a situation where the slices aren’t flying straight off the chopping board into the customers hands (sometimes even skipping the ‘onto a plate’ stage for seriously ravenous customers!!)

Has anyone here seen or worked in a wood fired slice joint? Are they common in NYC? Any suggestions as to how to maintain consistent quality in such a set up? Would I be best par baking whole pies in the wood fire and finishing off slices in a separate gas oven?

Also, i’ve been thinking about the possibility of home delivery of whole pies but have the same concern- we all know woodfired pies are best eaten fresh out of the forno but is there a way to keep a pie in good condition all the way to the customers doorstep? Do those box inserts really work?

any thoughts or comments gratefully received

Tom

Tommy;