writing POS software, interfacing with hardware

I’m funding a pizzeria which will be run primarily by my cousin. I’m a software engineer and I’m considering writing my own POS software. I have a good handle on the software side of things: building the interface, database, etc. Yes, I know it is quite a lot of work. :wink: At least we don’t do delivery. Anyway, what isn’t clear to me is exactly how to interface with the hardware. Does anyone here have experience with that?

I haven’t purchased any hardware yet, so for the questions below we can assume that I buy whatever hardware is good, reasonably priced, and easy to interface with.

How do I communicate with the printer? I expect I will buy a USB thermal receipt printer for < $200. Does it show up in Windows as any other printer would? I guess it will only print text?

How do I communicate with the cash drawer? I’ve read that the cash drawer can be triggered to open by the printer whenever it prints. Is this true for all printer + drawers? What should I look for when choosing a printer and cash drawer to make sure I get this feature?

How do I communicate with the card reader? I see some readers say “keyboard emulation” or “keyboard wedge”, so I expect my app will get keystrokes, cool. What keystrokes do I get for a credit card? I expect I get the name, card number, and expiration? Anything else? What is the difference between a 2 and 3 track reader when swiping a credit card?

Will I be able to tell from the card reader if a card is a debit card? I’d like to be able to swipe a credit or debit card, and if debit have the customer enter their pin on a pad. Is there some requirement that customers have to swipe their own debit card?

I have found Point of Success, which I see is popular with this forum. I am definitely consider it, but I am still interested in the above info. :slight_smile: