Continue to Site

Bake issues/B. Pride, screens

Green_Street

I’m trying to resolve some issues for a new shop- for the moment, they’re using frozen dough on screens in Baker’s Pride stone deck ovens with the heat dimed (knob says 650, not sure of the actual temp).
  1. I’ve never worked with frozen dough before, and it has been challenging. It comes in 24 ounce bags, and they were dividing it into 2 12-ounce portions and trying to stretch it with rolling pins. It was like rubber.
I’ve been dividing and rounding the dough as soon as it thaws, then placing it on aluminum sheet pans and covering with plastic wrap to allow some time for it to relax. I’m still trying to figure out how long to proof the dough before using and how long I can keep it at room temp before it becomes unusable, but just these few changes have already made things much easier. If anyone has any suggestions or handling tips for working with frozen dough, I’m all ears!
  1. The bake is coming out a bit soggy. I have a strong feeling that they’re baking too hot (the owner saw a TV show that glamorized 900° bakes, and now he wants it as hot as humanly possible, even though his product is medium thickness and heavily topped), but he won’t let me try baking off at a lower temperature.
To make matters even more frustrating, he gets angry at even a hint of darker brown- he’s pulling pies from the oven that look under-done to me, and he’s calling them burnt.

If anyone has any tips on baking temps, times and/or techniques for a medium-thickness pizza on screens in a stone deck oven, I’d be very grateful!

Any tips or suggestions for working with frozen dough would also be very much appreciated!

Last edited:
Very eloquently said. That’s exactly what I’m thinking, but it’s nice to have the assurance that I’m on the right track. Any recommendations on the temperature?
Thanks so much for the advice!

Last edited: