Continue to Site

Best & Worst Aspect of Owning A Pizzeria?

NYFLPizza

Here are what I’d personally say are the best and worst aspects of owning a Pizzeria:

Best: I feel like I’m accomplishing something. I’m building equity at a young age as I continue to pay off the loan I had to take out to acquire this business. I look back at a lot of people I graduated with, many of them still living with parents, wasting their time either not working or working just part time. At this point, I don’t think I could ever do a normal 40 hours a week job and not feel guilty about having so much free time where I could be making more money working a second part time job. This endeavor has taught me a tremendous amount of work ethic which will hopefully last with me through my working years.

Worst: Even though I own the business, it feels more like the business owns me. We’re open 7 days a week and I’m typically here 6.5-7 of them. I hate the feeling of knowing I have to be somewhere every single day of the week. Even the half day that I get off occasionally, I feel uneasy about not being there. Unfortunately, I don’t see light at the end of the tunnel for this either.

Just my thoughts and was curious how other people felt about the positives and negatives of owning their own pizzeria.

Last edited:
Best: make the rules. Do things the way I want them done. Have the ability to try new things without having an owner worried about waste. If I make a pulled pork and it doesn’t sell I chalk it up as a loss and move onn. I have also made tons of connections through customers and other people in the business. This sat one of my customers gave me Knicks vs nets tickets firSt row. 2,000 seats. That is something I would not have if I wasnt the guy bs ing with these people all day.
Worst: