Continue to Site

Buying existing pizza business

• Thread starter Thread starter system
  • Start date Start date
S

system

Hello,
I am planning to buy an existing pizza business (which has been in business for 20+ years). I am new to retail food industry, so thought would get some tips & advice from here.

The owner is selling his business under a loan payment arrangement [50% down and rest of the payment to be paid at interest over 5 or 10 years]. He owns the property (place) and he will lease it for 10 or 15years and collect rent from us if we decide to buy his business. A plus point is that the Seller will stay in business with us for up to 6 months before transitioning out. I would like to understand the pros & cons of taking over a business before I can take the risk of running it.

Questions & Concerns:
  1. Property ownership / Lease Validity
    a. Seller owns the property where the business is located (and he lives in the same building up stair). How to insure against a situation when the property is sold to someone else or the property comes under foreclosure? At present, the business owner has taken a property loan.
b) Just like bluebook value, is there a source where I can validate how much the business is worth? The tax-returns doesn’t reflect the actual revenue according to the seller.
  1. Daily Operations:
    a) To prevent theft by the employees as it has been the case in the past, I am planning to use “surveillance camera†. Could you suggest a good one (that can be availed on lease basis)
b. For a business owner having multiple pizza stores, I am curious to know how he/she manages the daily operations without being there physically.

c.POS: He recommends installing a Point of Sale system to streamline order management. Can you recommend a good POS system?
  1. Risk of Tax Audit (perceived by the current owner):